He Shoots, He Scores!

Good morning!  So if you’ve read Power Play: Ragnarok on Ice by now, you know that in tandem with the mythology as the basis for the story we have ice hockey.  The fictional Manchester Bears, led by the bombastic Norm Clayton, are a minor league team with big aspirations of winning the cup.  But, I bet a lot of people wonder why I picked hockey as the sport.

bears logo

Back when I started writing the drafts, one of the very first questions I had to answer was what sport would Thor play if he lived here?  Football hit me right away, as he is the God of Thunder after all, however a day later when the Flyers game was on TV it all changed.  Thor is a big dude from Scandinavia, he would be playing hockey, duh!  With that settled, I went about creating the main character and soon settled on a hard luck hockey player named Jack.

The next question that needed to be answered was, would these guys play in the pro’s?  I could give Jack any back history I wanted, but Thor’s history is sort of set in stone.  He lived on Asgard for what seemed like forever, so his natural gifts could only take him so far.  He would definitely be good, but without years of experience, I thought playing in the pro’s would be a stretch.  Being teammates on the Bears for a few years would also allow Jack to build a trust level with Thor.  That comes into play when he gets sent to Asgard and his whole view on the world is shattered.

There you have it, my thought process which led us to the storyline behind the Ragnarok on Ice series.  Feel free to follow me on Twitter (@jeremycroston81) or on Facebook.  Also, look for the prequel story Blood and Arrows on Tuesday.  If you haven’t started the series yet, it is an excellent place to begin!

-Jeremy

About Jeremy Croston

I'm a comic loving, soccer playing, devoted husband who has a writing addiction. I can be found at Orlando Solar Bear hockey games, at the local sports bar cheering on my teams from Philly (go Flyers!), and being led astray by my schnauzer, JJ. Check out my Amazon page at www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston to see my collections. Feel free to friend me on Facebook too at www.facebook.com/jcroston2 (there is another one of me out there apparently). Outside of writing, I work in business development and am considered an expert in all things Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to talking to you soon!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

