Wait… Thor is a female?!

Good Morning Puckheads!  I hope you have had a good week or two since the last post.  Well, let me jump right on in to today’s topic; Marvel’s decision to make Thor a female.  My personal thought is shame on you Marvel for doing this.  Now before you jump on my and call me a sexist, let’s dig a little deeper into this.

female thor

If you read the press release, Marvel’s reasoning is that they want a new lead female super hero.  I really appreciate that thought and if one day I have a daughter, I want her to have comic book characters she can relate too.  Marvel has a lot of female characters anyway, but they never gave them the exposure they should have.  Black Widow, Natasha Romanoff, is their most popular, but even she is more of a background character than anything.  How many of you have ever heard of Carol Danvers, Jessica Drew, or Jennifer Walters?

Now you have Thor, who just isn’t a comic book character, but a historical character from a mythology as old as time itself.  People who don’t even read the comics can tell you who Thor is, the God of thunder.  His significance is greater than the movies or fictional books that use him as a character.  To change him is to change history, and not in a good way.  Could you imagine Hercules as a female?  What about Anubis?

So back to the original thought, Marvel wants a new female lead.  Instead of putting their creative juices to work and create a whole new origin story with a new character, they copped out.  Sure, Thor has a built in audience and successful franchise, but at the end of the day when they could have come up with some great, they did not.  They just wanted to cash in on something that required little work or thought and spin it for a good cause.  I call shenanigans on that.  Shame on you Marvel for not giving us the female character we deserve.

About Jeremy Croston

I'm a comic loving, soccer playing, devoted husband who has a writing addiction. I can be found at Orlando Solar Bear hockey games, at the local sports bar cheering on my teams from Philly (go Flyers!), and being led astray by my schnauzer, JJ. Check out my Amazon page at www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston to see my collections. Feel free to friend me on Facebook too at www.facebook.com/jcroston2 (there is another one of me out there apparently). Outside of writing, I work in business development and am considered an expert in all things Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to talking to you soon!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wait… Thor is a female?!

  1. Marvel does this thing quite a bit to acquire more readers. It’s all to common they kill off a character or send them to rehab or make them go on walkabout or what not and then bring them back to rekindle a title. I feel that’s what they are doing here, Thor is no longer worthy to wield Mjölnir, so this character will take over for a run then something will occur and the female wielder will become evil or corrupt and Thor will stop her without the use of the hammer or Thor will simply be worthy again for some small reason and reclaim Mjölnir and either way rekindle the title for Marvel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

