The Joys of Writing

twodudesbrewsbooks logo

Today I’m going to take a break from The Cactus Killer and get a little more personal… with why I write that is.  Becoming an author has been a journey filled with up’s and down’s, but the joy I get with writing is totally worth it.

Last year at about this time, I began writing Power Play: Ragnarok on Ice and introduced the world to Jack Skelton.  From there, I’ve written The Cactus Killer, two Ragnarok on Ice novellas, and Power Play’s sequel – Penalty Kill.  From that you probably think I’m a full-time writer, but I’m not.  My actual career is in business development and I put 40-50 hours in the office a week.  Add in spending time with my awesome wife and family and half the time I wonder how I even have time to write.

I do find the time.  What once was time I spent playing video games or reading to unwind, is now dedicated to writing.  Creating my own worlds and characters is so much more fulfilling, especially knowing that other people are enjoying my crazy visions.  When I get an email from a reader who wants to talk about what they’ve just read, that’s the moment I know what I do is worth my time and effort.

What was once just a hobby has now become a passion.  I’m going to continue to write and get better at it, I promise.  Right now, I’m working on the sequel to The Cactus Killer and it’s going well.  I’m up to Chapter 23 and chugging right along with the story.  Another project (Code Name Silver Fox) is in the works, a story set in space that is geared more towards the younger crowd.

So to wrap this up, I write because I love it.  I write because it entertains people and gives them another means to escape the day-to-day bores of life.  And I write because I have a million ideas in my head that need an outlet to be shared.

-Jeremy

You can find all my work, including “The Cactus Killer,” @ www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston

About Jeremy Croston

I'm a comic loving, soccer playing, devoted husband who has a writing addiction. I can be found at Orlando Solar Bear hockey games, at the local sports bar cheering on my teams from Philly (go Flyers!), and being led astray by my schnauzer, JJ. Check out my Amazon page at www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston to see my collections. Feel free to friend me on Facebook too at www.facebook.com/jcroston2 (there is another one of me out there apparently). Outside of writing, I work in business development and am considered an expert in all things Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to talking to you soon!
This entry was posted in Books, Me and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Joys of Writing

  1. iggy23 says:

    Hopefully I’ll be do the same as you in the future, writing and enjoying life while I’m at it. Although I’m studying to become a journalist, I’m aiming to become a published author someday because like you said, hearing comments from others about your work feels really great! And I play soccer too!

    Like

  2. jefftrel says:

    Nicely said! I couldn’t agree more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

