Different Genres

As most of you know who follow me here, I’m a paranormal/sci-fi/fantasy writer.  From the Gods of Asgard to a vampire and werewolf duo, I’ve gotten really comfortable writing in what I know.  Unfortunately, this tends to keep things stale and one never grows as a writer.

Well, it is time to share with the world that I’ve broken my mold and have ventures into the realistic world of boxing with my next offering.  Working with a pro boxer to make sure the details are accurate, “The 12th Round” is a sports/love story about a boxer named Oliver Callahan who is attempting to make a comeback.  When the story starts, Oliver is at rock bottom and is making his way back up, both personally and professionally.

Writing this book is a huge challenge.  Every aspect of the story needs to be researched.  I just can’t make crap up and make it fit in my own little fantasy world.  When you write a story that needs to be accurate and realistic, you better be spot on.  Endless emails between me and my contact have gone over the smallest detail, so that you the reader get a very accurate representation of the world of boxing.

So yes, this has been a huge challenge for me, one that I am loving.  The characters I’ve created for this story (Julie, Mr. Callahan, Roddy Stevens, etc…) are reflected upon real life individuals.  I want you to feel their triumphs and falls, to be emotionally invested in their paths.

Look for “The 12th Round” sometime this summer, as I have no plans on rushing.  It will be a stand alone novel available on most e-readers.  I’ll keep you posted on my progress (I’m about 1/2 done the first draft) and should have some real information maybe in April or May.  Until then, I hope you enjoy my other offerings and I look forward to hearing from you.

-Jeremy

You can find all my works, including “The Cactus Killer,” @ www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston

About Jeremy Croston

I'm a comic loving, soccer playing, devoted husband who has a writing addiction. I can be found at Orlando Solar Bear hockey games, at the local sports bar cheering on my teams from Philly (go Flyers!), and being led astray by my schnauzer, JJ. Check out my Amazon page at www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston to see my collections. Feel free to friend me on Facebook too at www.facebook.com/jcroston2 (there is another one of me out there apparently). Outside of writing, I work in business development and am considered an expert in all things Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to talking to you soon!
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Different Genres

  1. Madam_W says:

    I’m also a Fantasy/Sci-fi person who’s venturing into a humor book. Let’s see how it develops! Good luck to you, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

