Mt. Olympus vs Asgard

As some of you might already know, I’m a mythology nerd.  It all started back in the day, in college, when I took a myth class offered at UCF.  The professor was very passionate and each day he encouraged us to explore on our own.  I didn’t stop at just one class, I eventually got my minor in humanities, with all my classes being mythology based.

I was so devoted to the subject that within the department, I was pretty well known amongst the students and the professors.  My final thesis paper was creating my own American Myth, naming Gods after the different cities across the country (ie Philadelphia, Atlanta, etc…).  But that’s a blog for another day.

Norse_Gods

When it became time to model my pantheon, the choice was obvious – the Aesir.  The whole story of the Norse pantheon spoke to me, from the diversity of the characters to the fact their final days, Ragnarok, dictated their lives to a T.  The first thing my professor asked me when I proposed the Norse model was why not the Greeks?  After all, aren’t they more well known and studied?

To me, the Greek myths never hit home the way the Norse did.  Sure Heracles and his twelve labors was fun to explore, but give me Loki and his tale any day of the week.  I also guess one could argue that Zeus commanded much more power and respect than Odin did, but Odin’s own worst enemy was himself.  How many of us can say that same thing?

At the end of the day, it is all personal preference.  Modern day writers like Rick Riordan and Kevin Hearne do a fantastic job of introducing the pantheons to us.  Believe it or not, the Percy Jackson books do incredible justice to the Greeks and Romans.  As for me and what I write, I’ll stick with the Norse, for better or worse.

-Jeremy

You can find all my work, including my Norse based fantasy epic series, “Ragnarok on Ice,” @ http://www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston

About Jeremy Croston

I'm a comic loving, soccer playing, devoted husband who has a writing addiction. I can be found at Orlando Solar Bear hockey games, at the local sports bar cheering on my teams from Philly (go Flyers!), and being led astray by my schnauzer, JJ. Check out my Amazon page at www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston to see my collections. Feel free to friend me on Facebook too at www.facebook.com/jcroston2 (there is another one of me out there apparently). Outside of writing, I work in business development and am considered an expert in all things Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to talking to you soon!
This entry was posted in creative writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

