I need to vent…

So on this Monday morning I’m going to be a bit more serious than I usually am.  Over the weekend, I saw a pretty harsh one star review of Power Play.  I don’t really care that I got a one star review, as I know my work isn’t for everyone.  What got me was the attacking nature of the review.  You don’t have to like what I write, but I don’t think it’s appropriate to be a ‘keyboard’ tough guy.

I write for fun.  I have a very stressful fulltime job that supports my family.  My fledging author career is a nice side business, but more importantly, it lets me escape for an hour or two each day and unwind.  I’ll be the first to admit I cannot afford the prices of professional editing.  To get a pro to do it costs around $800 for books of my typical length (65k-75k words).  I chose the DIY manner with help from my wife and a family friend.  The three of us do our best to make sure the books sounds as good as we can get it.  If we miss stuff, que sara.  My books are between 99 cents and $2.99 on Amazon.  I’m not asking $17.99 at Barnes and Nobles.

The most important part of my venting here is I write to make people laugh and have a good time.  If you want a deep experience or the next Hemingway, you’re in the wrong place.  I do not apologize to anyone who buys my books and thinks I ripped them off.  I also do not apologize for the work I put out there.  I really hope the majority of you enjoy my stuff because I enjoyed writing it.

As I leave you today, I do make one promise to everyone.  I will do my damndest to get better.  My wife and I talked and we both agreed that each book from here on out needs five sets of eyes to read it before released.  Just because this is a side job doesn’t mean I never want to be great at it (in fact my dream is to be famous enough to get my picture up at the local Tijuana Flats and free tacos from time to time!).

Thanks for bearing with me today as I vented and next time it’ll be back to my usual wacky self.

-Jeremy (JECebooks@gmail.com)

About Jeremy Croston

I'm a comic loving, soccer playing, devoted husband who has a writing addiction. I can be found at Orlando Solar Bear hockey games, at the local sports bar cheering on my teams from Philly (go Flyers!), and being led astray by my schnauzer, JJ. Check out my Amazon page at www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston to see my collections. Feel free to friend me on Facebook too at www.facebook.com/jcroston2 (there is another one of me out there apparently). Outside of writing, I work in business development and am considered an expert in all things Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to talking to you soon!
This entry was posted in Literature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I need to vent…

  1. jefftrel says:

    Well said, my friend. Well said!

    Like

Leave a Reply

