The Puck Stops Here! #1

In a fun new project, I’ve decided to do a running weekly shorts entitled The Puck Stops Here! that will show up on Wednesday/Thursday.  They’ll revolve around a character named Jimmy Blades and the misadventures he gets involved in.  I hope you like it! (If you do, feel free to share it on Facebook and Twitter)

From the mind that brought you Power Play: Ragnarök on Ice comes a new adventure – 

Jimmy Blades Banner

Issue #1

“Jimmy!  Quit skating like an old lady!”

Hey I’m Jimmy Blades, a member of The November Reign!  We’re a semi-pro team that doesn’t take stuff too seriously, well at least I don’t.  “Hey man, I was out late last night!”

Darren Day’s my best friend and also worst critic.  He’s also the team captain… ugh.  “We’re down three goals to these bozos!  Get it together man!”

Like most of my teammates, I’m in my early twenties, twenty-three to be exact.  I have no delusions of ever making it on to a pro team; I just like to play.  “Dude, it’s just a game.”

Sitting on the bench beside me during our line’s rest, “It’s just a game?  It’s just a game?!  I paid two hundred dollars to be a part of this!”

So semi-pro was a strong word.  The team had to pay quite the hefty league fee to even be able to play.  So a lot of guys were like Darren, they wanted to win after dropping that much coin.  I guess I couldn’t really blame them.  That didn’t make me really play any harder, but I felt for those guys, deep down.

It was time to get back out on the ice.  Darren grabbed my collar, “We’re scoring before the end of the period, got it?”

I gave him a salute before hitting the ice.  As soon as my blades touched, I was off.  Did I mention I’m one of the fastest skaters around?  I didn’t?  Oops, my bad.  Sprinting as fast as I could, I picked off the puck and skated into the other team’s zone.  How sad is it I didn’t even know the name of the team we were playing?  Stop judging me.

Darren caught up to me and I slung a pass in his direction.  Good thing too, because I got crunched by a very large dude.  The pass was perfect though and Darren faked out the last defenceman and put the biscuit in the basket!  That’s a goal for those of you unfamiliar with hockey.  Just like that we were only down two.

Helping me up, “Great pass Jimmy!”

“Excellent shot Darren.”  I even gave a small bow to an excellent performance.

“Knock that off.”

On our way back to the bench, I pointed up to the crowd.  “I see your sister is here…”

Darren slapped my arm down.  “You ARE NOT asking Sunny out!”

Oh Sunny Day, how I pine for you.  “Shout it a little louder.  Let’s give her a choice.”  I gave her a small wave and she returned with a semi-disinterested smile.  “See, my charm is magnetic.”

“Tell you what, we win this game, I’ll consider it…”

“Dude, are you serious?”

He tapped my helmet with his glove.  “Only if we win…”

YES!  My chance was finally here…

**Do The November Reign win the game?  Will Jimmy get a chance to ask Sunny Day out?  Find out next week in The Puck Stops Here! #2

-Jeremy

The Puck Stops Here! will be a weekly mini series.  Check back next week for the next issue.  If you like what I write, feel free to check out my Amazon author page for more selections: www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston

About Jeremy Croston

I'm a comic loving, soccer playing, devoted husband who has a writing addiction. I can be found at Orlando Solar Bear hockey games, at the local sports bar cheering on my teams from Philly (go Flyers!), and being led astray by my schnauzer, JJ. Check out my Amazon page at www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston to see my collections. Feel free to friend me on Facebook too at www.facebook.com/jcroston2 (there is another one of me out there apparently). Outside of writing, I work in business development and am considered an expert in all things Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to talking to you soon!
This entry was posted in The Puck Stops Here! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

