The Puck Stops Here! #4

It was brought to my attention that I missed last week’s The Puck Stops Here! by a faithful reader.  Well, I’m not one to sit back and let these things happen, so today you will getting both #3 and #4.  Enjoy the continued adventures of Jimmy Blades…

Jimmy Blades Banner

#4

That evil clocked read 6:55.  Just five more minutes until freedom…  The ringing phone brought me back to my senses.  Who calls a place when it’s about to close?!  The outrage!  “I don’t know who this is, but we’re about to close!  Call back…”

“Is this Jimmy?”

Huh?  A girl’s voice who’s asking for me?  “Yeah, who’s this?”

“This is Stormy Waters from earlier.  I was hoping to catch you before you left.”

“Oh really?  Stormy Waters, that sounds like a comic book character…”  This was an obvious trap set up by Darren.

The voice on the other end laughed at me.  “Don’t you remember?  You recommended Phantom Apocalypse to me this morning.”

“I did?  Oh yeah!”  The cute girl with glasses!  “Yeah, I remember you Stormy.  How’s it going?”

“I’m good and you were right, Phantom Apocalypse’s awesome!  I especially liked the song Viking Funeral Pyre.  The guitar riffs and drum solo were killer!”

A girl who gets the heart and soul of rock music?  Pinch me!  “Well in that case, allow me to suggest Evil Dark Elves.  The bassist in the band might be the greatest one of all time!”

“In that case, why don’t you grab one of their cd’s and meet me at the Café Frappe in a half hour?  If you’re not busy or anything.”

“I have hockey practice at 8:30 and Darren, my best friend, will have a coronary if I miss it.  But I’ve always got time for good-looking girls who dig rock!”  And seriously, how much would I care if I was a few minutes late for practice?

“That sounds good.  I’ll see you then.”

We hung up and I ran back to the rock and roll section.  “Hey Mr. Crasnick!  I’m going to use some store credit on a few Evil Dark Elves cd’s!”

I think he said okay from his back office.  With my music in hand, I punched the old-time card and headed out.  Good thing I lived close!  I could go home, grab my hockey stuff and make it to Café Frappe in no time.

I saw a figure standing by my bike.  “Sunny is that you?”

A tall blonde girl walked around and into the light, just like an angel.  “Hey Jimmy, just wanted to say you played a good game yesterday.”

“Thanks!  It’s a shame I didn’t score the goal at the end though.”  In more ways than one.

She walked over and handed me a piece of paper.  “Could you give that to Spike when you see him tonight?  Darren doesn’t want me dating hockey players, but he’s so cute.”

I looked down and saw it was her telephone number.  I could feel my heart being crushed.  “Yeah sure…”

“Thanks!  You’re the best.”  She gave me a kiss on the cheek and walked away, having no idea how much I really liked her.

**Spurned by the girl of his dreams, what will Jimmy do now?  Plus he’s got a date with Stormy Waters!  Stay tuned as everyone’s favorite knucklehead hockey player comes back next week in The Puck Stops Here! #5!

-Jeremy

You can find all my published work at http://www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston

About Jeremy Croston

I'm a comic loving, soccer playing, devoted husband who has a writing addiction. I can be found at Orlando Solar Bear hockey games, at the local sports bar cheering on my teams from Philly (go Flyers!), and being led astray by my schnauzer, JJ. Check out my Amazon page at www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston to see my collections. Feel free to friend me on Facebook too at www.facebook.com/jcroston2 (there is another one of me out there apparently). Outside of writing, I work in business development and am considered an expert in all things Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to talking to you soon!
This entry was posted in Literature, The Puck Stops Here! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

