Exclamation Points for Everyone!

Twodudesbrewsbooks

Over the weekend I got an email from a fellow writer that I respect quite a bit.  She’d read one of my books and one of her observations was that I overuse the fabled exclamation point.  At first I was a bit mortified.  Did I really?  More importantly, did it make my books hard to read?  So I went back and read said book just to see for myself.  After I finished, I came to realize something very important – I Love Exclamation Points!!!! (can we get that on a bumper sticker?)

I guess you need to know me to understand that.  I’m a very passionate dude; I yell at the TV, I have elaborate celebratory dances, I fully support fictional characters, etc… You get the point, my personality is probably a giant ! for all intents and purposes.  So when I write a book, I infuse pieces of my personality into my characters.  I want them to react strongly, with vigor and passion to situations that either upset them or make them really happy.  If a friend of mine calls me and it’s been awhile, I generally say hi with a bit more oomph and energy.  So do a lot of my characters.

So as I wrap this up, I wish I could tell you that as I continue my writing side career that I might lay off the exclamation points.  But that’d be lying, and I just can’t do that to you fine readers.  I’m going to continue to use them and use them in bunches.  Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go yell at someone.  Loudly!!

exclamation_point

-Jeremy

You can find all my published work at http://www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston

About Jeremy Croston

I'm a comic loving, soccer playing, devoted husband who has a writing addiction. I can be found at Orlando Solar Bear hockey games, at the local sports bar cheering on my teams from Philly (go Flyers!), and being led astray by my schnauzer, JJ. Check out my Amazon page at www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston to see my collections. Feel free to friend me on Facebook too at www.facebook.com/jcroston2 (there is another one of me out there apparently). Outside of writing, I work in business development and am considered an expert in all things Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to talking to you soon!
This entry was posted in Exclamation Points, Literature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

