Tis the Season to Stop being Offended

Good morning everyone, fall is officially in the air and Christmas stuff has taken over the world.  I went into Wal-Mart to pick up some dog food yesterday and people were already squabbling over merchandise.  Makes you feel good, doesn’t it?

With the holidays right around the corner, I need to vent a little bit.  At the same Wal-Mart with Christmas stuff everywhere, one of the associates there said they had just received an email telling them not to say Merry Christmas, but to use the more PC Happy Holidays.  Honestly, that kinda pisses me off.

Funniest_Memes_merry-christmas-you-filthy-animal_102

Before I go all ranting here, I feel I need to address the elephant in the room –  we’ve become too damn sensitive.  When did it not become okay to express yourself?  If I see one of my Jewish friends and I say Happy Hanukah to them, why isn’t it okay for them to wish me a Merry Christmas?  Or vice versa?  Out in the world, say Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukah, wish us a great Kwanza or whatever it is you celebrate.  It should be cool for people to say these things.

Each year I get in trouble at my place of employment for saying Merry Christmas.  This year, I’ll probably get in trouble for saying Merry Christmas.  No matter what religion, belief, or seasonal celebration you participate in (Festivus anyone?), join me and buck the tradition.  The holidays are for everyone so let’s start acting like it.

-Jeremy

Disagree with me?  My email is just a click away – JECebooks@gmail.com

About Jeremy Croston

I'm a comic loving, soccer playing, devoted husband who has a writing addiction. I can be found at Orlando Solar Bear hockey games, at the local sports bar cheering on my teams from Philly (go Flyers!), and being led astray by my schnauzer, JJ. Check out my Amazon page at www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston to see my collections. Feel free to friend me on Facebook too at www.facebook.com/jcroston2 (there is another one of me out there apparently). Outside of writing, I work in business development and am considered an expert in all things Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to talking to you soon!
This entry was posted in Merry Christmas, Opinions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

