The Wintery Tale of Frothy the Snowman #1 (reader discretion advised)

snowman

Sing Along Everyone!

“Frothy the Snowman loved to drink his beer, he even got behind the wheel and hit an eight point deer!

Down in the village, with a bottle in his hand, he drank and played, all night and day, until he won a grand.

There must’ve been some magic in that frothy ale he drank, for when he had a dozen and one, he cussed out Uncle Frank!

Oh, Frothy the Snowman, he knew his time was up, so he settled his tab, smacked an ass, and melted into his cup!”

::scene start::

The door to the bar flew open and a blustery wind blew in.  The few folks inside trembled with jubilant fear.  Benson, the barkeep, knew what this was about, so with a smile of fear and a twinkle of excited terror in his eyes, he grabbed the closest baseball bat.

A figure entered the bar, two coal eyes burning with hate and merriment.  Frothy the Snowman was here and he was pissed, in a peaceful, kind way.  “Benson,” he roared with polite disdain.  “The beer you sold me yesterday was total junk!”

Groveling the season’s cheer, “I’m sorry Frothy, but that’s all I had.  The vendor ripped me off too!”

“Enough of your pathetic excuses,” Frothy steamed, his snowy knuckles cracking, much like the sound of children laughing.  “This is the second time this week you’ve ripped me off.  You know how I hate to be ripped off Benson.”

The old barkeep knew it was time for a beating, the gift of broken bones and black eyes aplenty.  The baseball bat he had would do no good to the plush exterior of the delightfully angry snowman.  He put it down and hung his head, following Frothy outside.

A short time later, Benson reentered the bar.  His arm was in a sling and his left eye was swollen shut.  The patrons looked on in awe and merry disgust.  “It’s okay,” he bravely cringed.  “Frothy is gone for now, but I have a feeling that awful snowman will come back.”

-Jeremy

Head over to http://jefftrelbooks.wordpress.com for part 2!

About Jeremy Croston

I'm a comic loving, soccer playing, devoted husband who has a writing addiction. I can be found at Orlando Solar Bear hockey games, at the local sports bar cheering on my teams from Philly (go Flyers!), and being led astray by my schnauzer, JJ. Check out my Amazon page at www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston to see my collections. Feel free to friend me on Facebook too at www.facebook.com/jcroston2 (there is another one of me out there apparently). Outside of writing, I work in business development and am considered an expert in all things Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to talking to you soon!
This entry was posted in Short Story and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment