Cheap Beer Thursday

Twodudesbrewsbooks

Me – You know what I love?  Going into the grocery store and grabbing a cheap six pack of beer.  Nothing is better than getting good beer and a discounted price.  To join me in discussing this matter is my friend Jack Crosby (his blog – http://grimmsreapers.blogspot.com).

Jack – I couldn’t agree more.  Being on the road a lot with limited funds, I try to always get a six pack that’s local to the city I’m in, but I try to keep the price below $7.99.

Me – I think the $7.99 rule is a good one.  If you can find a good beer at or below that price, you’ve done good son.

Jack – What would you recommend to anyone?

Me – If you haven’t tried it yet, I really like Rolling Rock.  It might have to do with it being a PA beer.

Jack – What a homer pick, but being from Jersey, I agree as well.  Rolling Rock is smooth, crisp, and has a nice aftertaste.

Me – It’s that being brewed in a glass lined tanks.  They do it right.  Something the parent company Busch could learn from.

Jack – Do you remember Red Dog?  That was the stuff back in the day.

Me – I don’t know if it’s still brewed, but man that stuff was cheap and good.  It was like the perfect poor college kid drink.

Jack – Oh yeah, Red Dog > Pabst which is still alive and kicking.

Me – There was a bar beside me in college that sold Pabst by the barrel full.  It took at least 5 people to empty that.

Jack – We would be remiss from stating Jeff’s (the other dude – http://jefftrelbooks.wordpress.com) favorite cheap beer: Bud Light.

Me – That’s an easy pick.  Though, I think they’ve gotten a bit pricey for what you’re getting.  $7.99 for Bud Light or $5.99 for Rolling Rock…

Jack – Rolling Rock everyday of the week, but they might not be everywhere either.

Me – I had a beer once called Polar, bought it at a drug store of all places.  That stuff was surprisingly good.

Jack – Polar?  Never heard of it, but I like to throw a shout out to Moose Head and the best slogan of all time: a beer in Canada and a misdemeanor in Minnesota.

Me – That is fantastic!  With a slogan like that, I bet they are incredibly popular close to the border.

Jack – I can get in in Chicago, so I’m sure.

Me – Thoughts of the champagne of beers?

Jack – The High Life?  No thank you.  I rate that down there with Natty Light.  If we’re going super cheap, I’ll take Ice House for $200 Alex.

Me – Ice House… yes!!!  I got a six pack for $3.99 the other day at Target.  Just as good as it was in college.

Jack – We sound like alkies, you know that right?

Me – It’s cool.  People come to my blog for useless info.

Jack – In that case, I hope we led them in the right direction for their cheap beer needs.

Me – I think we have.  Thanks for stopping by.

Jack – Anytime, now it’s back to work on my next book.  Can’t hold off on it any longer.

Me – Later Jack and have a good day readers.

-Jeremy

You can find all my published stuff at http://www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston!

About Jeremy Croston

I'm a comic loving, soccer playing, devoted husband who has a writing addiction. I can be found at Orlando Solar Bear hockey games, at the local sports bar cheering on my teams from Philly (go Flyers!), and being led astray by my schnauzer, JJ. Check out my Amazon page at www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston to see my collections. Feel free to friend me on Facebook too at www.facebook.com/jcroston2 (there is another one of me out there apparently). Outside of writing, I work in business development and am considered an expert in all things Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to talking to you soon!
This entry was posted in Cost Effective and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

