Awesome Indie Books I’ve Read

Twodudesbrewsbooks

We’ve all read Stephen King, James Patterson, and Rick Riordan.  We all have our favorite author who’s been fortunate enough to hit it big.  Most of us in the literary field, we don’t.  So we group together and call ourselves independents.  We write mainly because we love to, believe in our work, and because it’s enjoyable.

So as one of the many indie’s of the world, today I’m going to write a blog featuring some of my favorite under the radar authors who you probably never heard of, but might enjoy all the same.

#5 – Benedict Martin (http://www.amazon.com/Benedict-Martin/e/B005NL17YY/)

His writing style is quirky, weird, and oh so fun.  I’ve read two of his books, Charlie Robot and Planet Purgatory – both books had me hooked from page one.  I love that he writes unusual characters and kind of bucks the norm when it comes to plot formulas.  If you want something out of the ordinary, both of his books offer something quite different.

#4 – C.A. Sanders (http://www.amazon.com/C.A.-Sanders/e/B00GFZU6ZI/)

I picked up The Watchmage of Old New York a few weeks ago and was hooked.  Sanders is detailed oriented, to the point where the city backdrop becomes a character itself.  His use of the same old Fae characters that a lot of paranormal authors use was done brilliantly and completely different.  The Watchmage was an unexpected gem at the end of the year.

#3 – Jack Crosby (http://www.amazon.com/Jack-Crosby/e/B00W3RT70C/)

Like myself, Jack’s a writer who just wants to write material he finds good.  He’s adult, risqué, and swears a lot.  Some of the scenes in his books our so out there that you scratch your head.  But at the end of the day his stories are solid and you end up rooting for an imbecile like Derrick Grimm just because.  The Grimm’s Reapers books aren’t for everyone, but if you like his style, they’re incredibly entertaining.

#2 – Michael Ness (http://www.amazon.com/M.-P.-Ness/e/B00DJ8Z3MK/)

Books about saving the planet and eco terror you say?  That sounds like nothing I’d like.  Well, I’m so glad I gave these books a chance.  The E.L.F. series is written with such creativity and vividness that you feel you’re there while flipping the pages.  Shannon Hunter is a fantastic character and her adventures are worth joining in on.

#1 – Jeff Trelewicz (http://www.amazon.com/Jeff-Trelewicz/e/B00SYXM2NS/)

Hey, he’s your business partner, this is obviously rigged!  Well I wouldn’t be working with him if I didn’t believe in his work.  Jeff is funny, thoughtful, and a throwback in his writing style.  The Paranormal Contact series proves all those points and more.  He first gets you emotionally invested in the main characters, then he drops the story on you.  Plus his insider knowledge on all things paranormal shines through, giving it some real substance.  No rigging here, Jeff is just a damn good author.

I hope you give one of these guys a chance.  I enjoyed all their books exponentially.  And my promise to you is that in 2016, I’ll find more indie authors to cast the spotlight on.

-Jeremy

Hey, I’m an indie too!  Check out my work at http://www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston.

About Jeremy Croston

I'm a comic loving, soccer playing, devoted husband who has a writing addiction. I can be found at Orlando Solar Bear hockey games, at the local sports bar cheering on my teams from Philly (go Flyers!), and being led astray by my schnauzer, JJ. Check out my Amazon page at www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston to see my collections. Feel free to friend me on Facebook too at www.facebook.com/jcroston2 (there is another one of me out there apparently). Outside of writing, I work in business development and am considered an expert in all things Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to talking to you soon!
This entry was posted in Author, Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Awesome Indie Books I’ve Read

  1. Pingback: Awesome Indie Books I’ve Read | casandersdotnet

Leave a Reply

