The Negative Man: Rise of the Lion (prologue)

So people have been asking me for Rise of the Lion for a few weeks now.  It’s up on Wattpad, but I know not everyone has access to it.  So I’ll put it up on my blog too.  For those of you new to this, Rise of the Lion details the life of The Dark Lion before City of Chaos.  Well, without bogging you down too much, here’s the main event of the evening –

Dark Lion Rises Cover

“Scum like you doesn’t deserve a second chance!”

“Please, I swear I’ll…”

I couldn’t stand to hear any more of his lies.  I curled up my hand into a fist and smashed it into his face.  Not hard enough to kill, but I felt his bones breaking under my knuckles.  His eyes glazed over and his body slumped to the wet street below.  North Terrace had one less gang banger to concern itself with.

I climbed the closest fire escape and took to the rooftops to get back to my lair.  I was all but invisible, except for the yellow cloak that hung over my body.  It was a gift from someone important, one that I would turn into a symbol to all the street punks and lowlifes who plagued my home.

It’d just rained, like it always had, which made the travel that much more difficult.  If it wasn’t for my power, I would’ve fallen to my death years ago.  The one thing that saved my life on a consistent basis was also the thing that pissed me off the most.

Powered people started popping up just a few years before I was born.  During the great nuclear power phase in our country, you couldn’t go fifty miles without hitting a power plant.  Unfortunately, it made for easy targets.  Terrorists hit them, and hard.  Diseases, death, and disfigurement ran rampant in the aftermath.  The one thing no one expected though was the rise of powered people.

Here we are though, a small but growing number.  Too many take the easy way out, turn to a life of crime because it pays well and the police can’t stop them.  Me, I just couldn’t.  If the human police couldn’t do shit about the supers, then I was going to.  My city, North Terrace, wasn’t going to become their playground.

My name is John Wonderton.  I’m poor and I’m alone, but that’s not going to stop me.  I’ve been gifted superhuman abilities and with them, a way to rid the city of the plague crippling it.

*you can get The Negative Man: City of Chaos at http://www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston

 

About Jeremy Croston

I'm a comic loving, soccer playing, devoted husband who has a writing addiction. I can be found at Orlando Solar Bear hockey games, at the local sports bar cheering on my teams from Philly (go Flyers!), and being led astray by my schnauzer, JJ. Check out my Amazon page at www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston to see my collections. Feel free to friend me on Facebook too at www.facebook.com/jcroston2 (there is another one of me out there apparently). Outside of writing, I work in business development and am considered an expert in all things Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to talking to you soon!
This entry was posted in Literature, The Negative Man, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

