You’re just fine the way you are!

I know most of you visit my blog for the stories, funny outtakes on life, or for info on my upcoming books.  Today’s blog won’t be featuring any of that.  First let me introduce myself again, my name’s Jeremy and I haven’t always been comfortable with my body.  From as early as the 2nd grade until today, I’ve looked at myself in the mirror and I’m not happy.

I know a lot of us aren’t happy with our bodies.  Every day on TV, magazines, the internet, we’re being shown what an attractive person should look like.  For dudes, if you don’t have a six pack, you don’t want to take your shirt off.  Hell, as a kid going to the swimming pool was the worst thing in the world.  Who wanted to see the chubby, pasty pale kid run around?

Today I wish I could say I outgrew those fears, but they’re still there.  I’m even married to an absolutely beautiful girl who loves me 100% and yet ” still think down on myself.  It’s quite sad isn’t it?

A friend of mine just wrote a book entitled F#@k Skinny!  I saw the advertisement on Facebook and said to myself why not give it a shot?  Turns out, she had a lot of the same feelings I did.  Wait just a minute, if this well conditioned athlete was having the same thoughts as me, what was going on here?

laura ingalls

Turns out a lot of us have body issues.  Whether it’s because of the constant bombardment of unrealistic expectations, being made fun of or bullied, or just being wired that way, a good deal of people are in the boat with me.  But after reading Laura’s book, I think it’s high time we get off that boat.

All of us are unique, our bodies react differently to food and exercise.  But each one of us is pretty damn awesome.  We’re healthy people going through life as best we can.  I for one am tired of feeling like crap because I’m built a certain way.  Friends, screw this I say.  From this day forth we’re all freaking awesome and that’s okay!  Join me in the revolution!

*To read an awesome book with a wonderful message, check out http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01BMXMY2U for Laura’s book.

-Jeremy

If you want to check out my library of books, head on over to http://www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston.  I’ve got everything from ice hockey and mythology to a bad ass named The Negative Man.

About Jeremy Croston

I'm a comic loving, soccer playing, devoted husband who has a writing addiction. I can be found at Orlando Solar Bear hockey games, at the local sports bar cheering on my teams from Philly (go Flyers!), and being led astray by my schnauzer, JJ. Check out my Amazon page at www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston to see my collections. Feel free to friend me on Facebook too at www.facebook.com/jcroston2 (there is another one of me out there apparently). Outside of writing, I work in business development and am considered an expert in all things Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to talking to you soon!
This entry was posted in Personal, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You’re just fine the way you are!

  1. Thank you! I’m buying that book. I already have yours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

