Orlando City Friday

This Friday, instead of going into the boxing-verse and ripping Canelo Alvarez for dropping his middleweight title and ducking Gennady Golovkin, I’m going to talk about my hometown soccer team – Orlando City.

orlando city

This year has been tough for City Supporters.  I think there’s a case to say at least 2 of the ties should be victories for the guys in purple.  I’d also say there’s a case for one of the losses to be a tie.  However, as the old adage goes, if could and buts were candy and nuts, we’d all be fat and happy.

There are things the team definitely needs to improve upon going forward.  In fact, I’d say we are lucky with the record we have right now.  Our ball control is lacking, especially in the midfield.  Nocerino, the high paid talent we took from Europe, hasn’t lived up to his expectations.  Yet each week, old Heath inserts him in the starting lineup much to most supporters chagrin.  It’d be different if he made some impact, but his passing hasn’t been grade A and the few goal scoring chances he’s received were misses.  In fact, I think the one shot is still orbiting the moon.

There are bright spots though.  Cyle Larin is still putting away a good amount of his chances.  Kaka is still doing his usual Kaka thing.  And my God, Joe Bendik is a wall back there.  I thought Tally Hall was our guy and was really disappointed when we let him go.  Bendik has proven to be a big time keeper so far this year.

Going forward, I’m not a coach but I think there’s some things that should at least be tried.  Number 1 – Brek Shea needs to be given a chance in the wings at in the midfield.  Could you imagine Kaka being flanked by Winter and Shea?  That could be a very disruptive midfield.

As for Mr. Nocerino, if Heath is going to keep playing him, get him out of there at around the 60 minute mark.  I’d bring in Baptista and switch from a 4-2-3-1 to a 4-4-2.  Larin and Baptista together could work, in short spurts, especially at the ends of the game.

Anyway, those are just my opinions.  The game Against Sporting KC showed a lot of our problems (we gave up 31 shots on goal.  31 shots!!).  There’s still plenty of time to right the ship and keep our playoff spot.  Hopefully Heath looks into some changes and makes the right corrections sooner than later.

-Jeremy

Visit the Two Dudes’ website at http://ucfgk04.wix.com/twodudesbrewsbooks

Twodudesbrewsbooks

About Jeremy Croston

I'm a comic loving, soccer playing, devoted husband who has a writing addiction. I can be found at Orlando Solar Bear hockey games, at the local sports bar cheering on my teams from Philly (go Flyers!), and being led astray by my schnauzer, JJ. Check out my Amazon page at www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston to see my collections. Feel free to friend me on Facebook too at www.facebook.com/jcroston2 (there is another one of me out there apparently). Outside of writing, I work in business development and am considered an expert in all things Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to talking to you soon!
This entry was posted in Soccer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

