Vote for Yourself, not Others

The closer this scam of a presidential election comes, the worse Facebook gets, am I right?  I mean, seriously – just how many of you keyboard pundits know two things about your candidates choices?  Can you talk about their stances on taxation or foreign policy without rattling off the same spin your candidate bemoans ever 30 minutes on CNN or MSNBC?

The problem is most of them can’t.  We’ve gotten to a point in our nation where following the leader is acceptable and shaming others into following our beliefs is the norm.  Well I say for shame on that.

63124974

Honestly, I don’t care at all who you vote for.  You know yourself and your values best.  With that in mind, you need to vote for the candidate who speaks to you the most.  No vote is a wasted vote if you truly believe in the person who represents you.

What I care about today is getting back to being decent people with respect for people.  Just because the two choices being shoved down our throats don’t have respect for each other doesn’t mean we need to follow their lead.  Before we can demand better of them, we need to demand better for ourselves.

I’m challenging those of you who read this to step up and be nice.  The other day, someone who never even met me said I was a stupid dupe for voting the way I am.  I mean, is that really necessary?  Hey I don’t agree with your choice so your a dumby.  If name calling is your way of trying to convince people to change their stance, then you deserve the choices being forced upon you.

Again, let’s be good, decent people.  There’s nothing wrong with debate, but if someone doesn’t agree with you, that doesn’t mean you can’t be friends.  It just proves you’re human and think differently.  And that’s pretty damn cool.

-Jeremy

About Jeremy Croston

I'm a comic loving, soccer playing, devoted husband who has a writing addiction. I can be found at Orlando Solar Bear hockey games, at the local sports bar cheering on my teams from Philly (go Flyers!), and being led astray by my schnauzer, JJ. Check out my Amazon page at www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston to see my collections. Feel free to friend me on Facebook too at www.facebook.com/jcroston2 (there is another one of me out there apparently). Outside of writing, I work in business development and am considered an expert in all things Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to talking to you soon!
This entry was posted in Opinions and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

