Why I Voted For Gary Johnson

Election Day – this is probably the one day this year we have all been dreading/grateful for. We’re dreading it because we don’t know what the future will hold, but we’re grateful that one of the most hostile presidential races in history is coming to an end. Honestly, I’m glad Jakson is only three months old; he won’t remember the year that two senior citizens acted worse than children on a playground.

Everyday in this election period, we’re told that our vote counts, unless we’re planning to vote 3rd party that is. At that point, our vote is a waste, or even more derogatory, a protest vote. If you’re a third party voter, how many ‘friends’ have told you that you’re sabotaging their preferred candidate’s chances? I mean honestly, it is downright shameful.

Do these people consider that we’re voting with our conscious? That we are picking the candidate that best represents us?  And that is the reason I voted for Gary Johnson, he best represents my core values and opinions.

The biggest problem is the lack of education that is available to voters. All most of mainstream American knows Johnson for are his sound bites about foreign affairs. No one has taken the time to know he is for personal liberties, free trade, less involvement in foreign affairs, and stop spying on U.S. citizens.

Just like every candidate, he has policies I don’t agree with (abolish student loans, raise retirement age to 75), but as a whole, the man hits too many points that seem to make sense to me.

So today, when you’re out voting, vote for the candidate that best represents you. If that is Clinton, Trump, or even Johnson, vote for what resonates with you. I know I did and that’s all that matters.

-Jeremy

 

About Jeremy Croston

I'm a comic loving, soccer playing, devoted husband who has a writing addiction. I can be found at Orlando Solar Bear hockey games, at the local sports bar cheering on my teams from Philly (go Flyers!), and being led astray by my schnauzer, JJ. Check out my Amazon page at www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston to see my collections. Feel free to friend me on Facebook too at www.facebook.com/jcroston2 (there is another one of me out there apparently). Outside of writing, I work in business development and am considered an expert in all things Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to talking to you soon!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

