The Penalty Box Welcomes Angela Morales!

cropped-penaltyboxlogonew.jpg

Jeremy – Welcome to the Penalty Box, Angela Morales! How are you doing today?

Angie – I’m doing great Jeremy, thank you. I’m happy to be here.

Jeremy – We’re very happy to have you!

First thing’s first, why don’t you tell everyone a bit about yourself. How did you end up getting suckered into this harsh reality that is “being an author?”

Angie – Well…I’ve always been a writer at heart. I’ve been writing songs and poetry since I was a kid.  At 22 I was writing songs and singing, either at church, at school, for family/friends, and other community functions.   Then I had kids and became a mom.  Being a mom is everything to me, so I stopped writing for a while. Then I decided I wanted to be a teacher, so I went back to school.  This is when I started blogging.  Blogging is what got me “back into writing”.  My blog went from journaling funny stories about my mom life, to raising awareness about education policy issues and teacher advocacy.  Suddenly I had a huge audience – I was getting emails from all around the world.  I was published in Washington Post Answer Sheet, and Diane Ravitch published one of my articles on her blog as well.  This is when I realized, wow, people are attracted to my writing!  In addition to blogging, my amazing friend and talented colleague, Jen Turchen and I, decided to start a Drama Program at our school. That turned into writing skits and plays…we’ve already co-written two children’s plays and directed both productions.

Jeremy – Those are impressive feats themselves. Congratulations are in order for those.

Angie – In the midst of all of this, I knew I wanted to write a book one day.  About 4 years ago, after being obsessed with watching the show Ancient Aliens, a story started cooking in my head. I literally couldn’t sleep for about 3 weeks. One day, I just woke up in the middle of the night and started typing the story Beyond the Stars. I think my husband thought I was crazy, because I was typing at all hours of the night – the story in my head literally would NOT let me sleep! I just knew I had to write it, and I knew it would be a series from the get go.  There is so much to the story, I can’t just tell it in one book.

Now I can’t stop writing and thinking of all these other stories I want to write in the near future. I just wish my fingers could keep up with brain when I type. Haha!

Jeremy – All authors have been there. I’m pretty sure there are times where my wife thinks I’m nuts, but she is so supportive, too.

Here’s a tough one for you; is there anything you’d do differently if you could go back to the very beginning? I know I made a ton of mistakes when I published my first book and I kick myself to this day for not being better prepared.

Angie – Honestly, no. I feel like everything happens for a reason. I feel like I’ve been true to myself in my writing…I’ve taken the good and the bad and made the best of it. I took my time for book one…I picked the right brains, I slept on it, and I feel like book one is where it needs to be.  If it’s what people want to read, they’re going to read it. But for me, it was fulfilling just to be able to make the characters real in my heart.  There is something magical about creating a fantasy world in your brain, and being able to bring it to life on paper.

Jeremy – Well said.

As my guest, I want to give my followers a chance to learn about your book. The stage is yours, lay it on us.

Angie – The series is about love, friendships, family, and obviously beings from another planet.  It’s no secret that it’s a romance – but it’s much more than that. I don’t want people to think it’s just some “sappy romance” novel, because it’s not. There’s action, betrayal, war, love, suspense…twists and turns. Just when you think you know what’s going on, I’m going to throw you a curve ball. It’s a complicated plot, which is why I chose to make it into a series.  But I very much love each individual character, and I want readers to be able to connect with the characters as well.  I choose real life issues that people deal with, but I take you out of the typical “mindset” of reading a romance novel. I want the reader to feel emotions they’ve never felt, just like the main character does, and I want readers to travel outside of Earth too. One of the deeper messages of the story is that there’s a world beyond our world, but love is universal. Greed is also the root of all evil, no matter where you are in the universe.

Jeremy – When and where can the viewing audience find your book?

Angie – Beyond the Stars: The Lost Child comes out on December 13th! It will be available on Amazon in both e-book format and in paperback, too.

Jeremy – As you may know, I have an affinity for good brews and good books. Do you have any recommendations of either you’d like to share with us?

Angie – Brew? Like Café Pilon? Haha! That’s my favorite kind of brew – the dark brown stuff with caffeine in it.  As far as books, I have to say I really enjoyed Girl on a Train a few years ago when I read it. Funny enough, I had no idea they were making a movie when I read it. Now there’s a movie, which I haven’t seen yet. Great book though.  Lots of twists and suspense.

Jeremy – Now before we call it a day, do you have any other talents/skills we should know about? As authors, we tend to be an eclectic bunch with a lot more than meets the eye.

Angie –  I mentioned some of this before…I sing, and I love acting and theatre. I’ve been in plays – and I co-direct the drama program at my school.  I love crafting, upcycling furniture, and decorating. I used to sew – but I haven’t done that in a while.  And…I love working with children. Something about kids makes me happy. I’m able to somehow get their attention…children naturally kind of cling to me. I thank God every day for choosing me to do the job I do. I truly love my students – and I’m just amazed at how much they love me back! To me it’s magical when I am able to connect with a child, build their confidence, and teach them something that will stick with them forever.

Jeremy – That’s awesome. I’m so glad you stopped by today to talk with me and share your story. For those of you reading, if you want to learn more about our guest, Angela Morales, I’ll have all the pertinent information at the end of the interview.

Again, thanks for coming by and we’ll catch up later!

Angie – Thank you for having me. It has been a pleasure talking to you.

*Want to know more about Angie’s book? Pop on over to http://boltbookspub.wix.com/home.

**Don’t forget to like her Facebook page, too – http://www.facebook.com/angelamoralesfanpage

-Jeremy

About Jeremy Croston

I'm a comic loving, soccer playing, devoted husband who has a writing addiction. I can be found at Orlando Solar Bear hockey games, at the local sports bar cheering on my teams from Philly (go Flyers!), and being led astray by my schnauzer, JJ. Check out my Amazon page at www.amazon.com/author/jeremycroston to see my collections. Feel free to friend me on Facebook too at www.facebook.com/jcroston2 (there is another one of me out there apparently). Outside of writing, I work in business development and am considered an expert in all things Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to talking to you soon!
This entry was posted in Author and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

